Current Favorites: Makeup Edition

Hello ladies,

Today I have solicited the help of a very beautiful girl named Mikaela to help model my current favorite makeup products. She agreed to do it but only under one condition… an all paid trip to Chuck E. Cheese. I had no choice but to accept since her pictures to me are priceless.

Over the years, I have tried countless makeup products. I am the type of person who loves to try all kinds of makeup and the kind who doesn’t need to run out of blush to go purchase another (hoarder alert haha). To all the ladies out there who also like makeup, we can agree that makeup is artistic and a very fun way to express yourself while enhancing your natural beauty.

1. Too Faced Chocolate Bar Palette

IMG_2103

I have so many current favorite palettes but this one has a distinct quality to it… it smells just like Chocolate!! How amazingly creative is that? I bought it online thinking it was a cute product with an interesting concept. But most importantly, I thought the eyeshadow color selection was neutral enough for everyday wear (Can you really have too many neutral eyeshadows?… didn’t think so). I was sooo pleasantly surprised with the colors, pigmentation, and of course the smell of the eyeshadows!

toofaced2

Here’s Mika taking a little whiff of the chocolate goodness.

Image

I had to restrain this hungry model from devouring my very precious palette. But I understand why she couldn’t help herself from taking a bite. There are days when I catch a whiff and can’t help but crave a chocolate bar. Needless to say, the smell of this palette always puts me in a better mood in the morning when applying my makeup. According to Mika, it smells good… but it tastes even better.

2. Urban Decay Heavy Metal Glitter Liner in Midnight Cowboy

IMG_2088

I never thought I would adore a glitter eyeliner as much as I adore this one…Glitter has never been my thing! I typically stay away from glitter because it’s messy and if applied wrong, it may look a bit tacky. I usually stick to my ever so trustworthy black liquid eyeliner for a dramatic look. It wasn’t until my very good friend recommended me this one, that I tried it and completely fell in love with it. It simply works great– it holds enough product, dries quickly, very long lasting, and looks fantastic on the eyes! Urban Decay carries an array of colors for the line, but Midnight Cowboy (beige glitter) is by far my favorite.

Image

I apply this product to the inner corners of my eye for a subtle look, or I drag it across for a more dramatic look. I love it because it makes your eyes look so sparkly and glamourous! You can apply it for a night on the town (as I do), but be ready to get looks from others since it’s bound to call attention… but in a good way!

3. Soleil Tan de Chanel

Bronzer is amazing! It’s so versatile– it may be used to sculpt and contour your face and to add a beautiful healthy glow to your skin. I use bronzer every single day and it makes such a huge difference. However, I’ve always leaned toward a powder bronzer and stayed away from cream versions. I always believed a cream bronzer would be harder to blend and it may just melt off my face, BUT I was completely wrong! I gave this one a chance and now I absolutely love the idea of a cream bronzer. This one in particular blends so well and looks completely natural on the skin.

chanelbronzer

This bronzer only comes in one universal shade, that in my opinion works well for many but not all skin tones. It has minimal glitter that once applied on the skin vanishes away and you’re left with natural glowing skin. It’s so easy to use, and although it may be a bit expensive, it contains so much product that it is guaranteed to last you for a really long time.

Angelica tried it for herself and loved it so much that she went out and bought one too. When we went to get hers, the sales associate told us that this exact product is being discontinued and is being replaced with a smaller, sparklier version of it. I was so disappointed that I immediately bought one as a gift for a friend’s birthday (who by the way texted me and told me she loved it too) and one for my mom, too. I’m not sure if that rumor is true but if you know please let me know.

4. Benefit Cosmetics Rockateur 

Blush is probably one of my all time favorite types of makeup. It is what I love to buy and love to wear. There are just so many different kinds of blushes out there to try! Since I love so many different blushes, It was very difficult for me to narrow it down to one.

blush

I chose the Rockateur blush because it is honestly the one that I gravitate to the most lately. Although, the packaging of this blush is awful (absolutely hate it), the blush itself is truly amazing. It’s pigmented enough to appear on the skin and leave you with a warm rose gold sheen on your face. LOVE it. To top it off, it works well with so many makeup looks because of it’s natural appearance (probably the reason of why I wear it so much). Hmm… I’m not too sure if Mika likes it because of her serious face expression, but I sure do! I think my model is getting a bit tired.

5. Hourglass Ambient Lighting Powder in Luminous Light

Like I’ve mentioned in a previous post, this powder works wonders and is truly a current favorite. Hourglass carries a variety of different shades and finishes of this product. Some are much lighter, some are more shimmery, some are bronzier. In reality it all depends on what it is you are trying to achieve with the usage of this product. For me, Luminous Light works great as a subtle and beautiful highlighter. I use it on the high points of my face for a shimmery and glowy effect. I believe this one is the most shimmery of the bunch and works great on my cheeks and temples. You may also sweep it across your forehead and down your nose for an enhanced look. I believe my model overdid it as shown in the picture below. Maybe she just liked it so much she wanted more!

hourglass

6. Benefit Cosmetics The POREfessional 

There has been so much hype surrounding this product! I was so hesitant to try at first because first of all, it isn’t all that cheap ($30) and second of all, primers don’t excite me as much. In my opinion, it is really hard to determine if a primer does anything at all… I’m happy to say that the hype is real and yes this product will make a difference to your makeup (specifically to your foundation).

When I applied it for the first time, my face felt so smooth and my pores, especially around my nose, disappeared. At the beginning I would only use it around my T-zone area underneath my foundation, but one day I decided to try it all over my face. The results? Airbrushed canvas! My makeup went on so smooth and my skin looked flawless. I seriously had to take a second look in the mirror and wonder why my skin looked so nice. It’s a difference you can see. It may also be somewhat childproof since my three year old model had a hard time opening it, that’s always a plus.

benefit

Let’s Find out what Mika’s favorite product is…..

Image

DRUMROLL PLEASE…. an EOS Lip Balm in Pomegranate Raspberry. I think she likes to eat it more than wear it.

Image

Gotta give this gorgeous beauty a special thanks for being the cutest and most patient model I know!

So what are some of your current favorite makeup products?? Leave a comment below!

XOXO,

Rosie

Leave a Reply

